New for 2020 29th Annual Commercial Building Awards Winners Presentation - Watch Now

Lum Sam & Lee Chong

The Lum Sam building’s façade features both Italianate and Gothic influences derived from chinoiserie designs. Along the west side of the building is an alleyway that leads to two inner courtyards. There are two more narrow passages that form an internal passageway that goes through a small courtyard to link the private access from Pandora Avenue to Fisgard Street. It comprises nine residential units.

In 1901 Lee Chong and Lee Woy built the Lee Chong commercial and residential building on the western end of Fisgard Street. To this day the exterior of the Lee Chong building remains in its original form, including wrought iron balconies off the second floor apartments which are accessed from segmental windows and doors and feature ornate stained glass windows and high ceilings. The Lee Chong building offers sixteen residential and three commercial units.

Connect with us, get the latest.

Delivered to your inbox

Submit your email address to receive announcements for nominations, event registration and winners.

Victoria Real Estate Board

3035 Nanaimo Street, Victoria, BC, V8T 4W2
Tel: (250) 385-7766 Fax: (250) 385-8773

Historically speaking

The Commercial Building Awards were started in 1991 by a group of REALTORS® who were concerned that commercial development within the Greater Victoria area was not receiving the recognition it deserved.

The Commercial Building Awards competition is recognized among architects, builders and developers and the real estate community as a prestigious event dedicated to the advancement of excellence in construction and design. Because of its success, the Victoria Commercial Building Awards program is now being emulated by various real estate boards throughout BC and across Canada.

The Commercial Division of the Victoria Real Estate Board is dedicated to advancement in quality developments and to encouraging a better environment within our community and is proud to sponsor this annual competition.