New for 2020 29th Annual Commercial Building Awards Winners Presentation - Watch Now

Community – Institutional

Hope Centre

Hope Centre in Sooke’s downtown core is a mixed-use development made possible
through a partnership between the Society of Saint Vincent de Paul of Vancouver
Island and the M’akola Housing Society. The project maximizes land use and density
in its urban location. The Centre includes 3,122 sq. ft. of commercial space and 14,982
sq. ft. of residential space which provides 25 units of affordable housing for at-risk
youth. A number of local First Nations artists are featured in two commissioned art
pieces in the building. Various sustainable and energy conserving initiatives were
incorporated such as ENERGY STAR® windows with low emissivity coatings, a
large overhang on the main floor to reduce solar gain in the summer months, low
maintenance factory painted fibre cement siding and storm water detention provided
on-site to retain water and minimize water run-off during heavy rain.

Connect with us, get the latest.

Delivered to your inbox

Submit your email address to receive announcements for nominations, event registration and winners.

Victoria Real Estate Board

3035 Nanaimo Street, Victoria, BC, V8T 4W2
Tel: (250) 385-7766 Fax: (250) 385-8773

Historically speaking

The Commercial Building Awards were started in 1991 by a group of REALTORS® who were concerned that commercial development within the Greater Victoria area was not receiving the recognition it deserved.

The Commercial Building Awards competition is recognized among architects, builders and developers and the real estate community as a prestigious event dedicated to the advancement of excellence in construction and design. Because of its success, the Victoria Commercial Building Awards program is now being emulated by various real estate boards throughout BC and across Canada.

The Commercial Division of the Victoria Real Estate Board is dedicated to advancement in quality developments and to encouraging a better environment within our community and is proud to sponsor this annual competition.