New for 2020 29th Annual Commercial Building Awards Winners Presentation - Watch Now

Community – Institutional

McCauley Lodge

The McCauley Lodge redevelopment replaced a building that was in service from
1906 through the mid-70’s. The building is classified as a group home and is
compliant to the current VIHA standards. The building was modeled using the LEED
checklist and BOMA BEST® guidelines. Sustainable elements include a north/south
building orientation that allows for passive solar gains in winter and solar cooling in
summer, a 90 per cent high efficiency condensing boiler with radiant panel heating,
individual control and hot water tanks and an energy efficient LED and T-8 lighting
system with occupancy sensors in staff rooms and washrooms. The building now
operates at 27 per cent less than original simulated model. The building envelope
consists of an air-tight exterior, triple glazed windows with 13% opening, R26 wall
insulation value and R40+ roof insulation.

Connect with us, get the latest.

Delivered to your inbox

Submit your email address to receive announcements for nominations, event registration and winners.

Victoria Real Estate Board

3035 Nanaimo Street, Victoria, BC, V8T 4W2
Tel: (250) 385-7766 Fax: (250) 385-8773

Historically speaking

The Commercial Building Awards were started in 1991 by a group of REALTORS® who were concerned that commercial development within the Greater Victoria area was not receiving the recognition it deserved.

The Commercial Building Awards competition is recognized among architects, builders and developers and the real estate community as a prestigious event dedicated to the advancement of excellence in construction and design. Because of its success, the Victoria Commercial Building Awards program is now being emulated by various real estate boards throughout BC and across Canada.

The Commercial Division of the Victoria Real Estate Board is dedicated to advancement in quality developments and to encouraging a better environment within our community and is proud to sponsor this annual competition.