New for 2020 29th Annual Commercial Building Awards Winners Presentation - Watch Now



Oak Bay Beach Hotel


The original Oak Bay Beach Hotel (OBBH) was built in 1927. The old building was deconstructed in 2007 due to universal accessibility issues and the impracticality of seismic upgrades. The new 142,550 sq. ft. OBBH is Victoria’s first full-service luxury hotel with private residences. It includes 100 guest rooms, and 20 private residences in an eight storey concrete structure, with three levels of underground parking for 184 cars, 22,000 sq. ft. of public commercial space and administrative offices and a Spa in two buildings. Several features of the old building were identified as “Legacy” elements, and were faithfully re-created in the new OBBH under covenant, including: The Snug pub, the Grand Lobby and the original hotel entrance porch and door. The new stone, brick and stucco-finished hotel acknowledges its “tudor” roots in a contemporary style.

Continue reading

Connect with us, get the latest.

Delivered to your inbox

Submit your email address to receive announcements for nominations, event registration and winners.

Victoria Real Estate Board

3035 Nanaimo Street, Victoria, BC, V8T 4W2
Tel: (250) 385-7766 Fax: (250) 385-8773

Historically speaking

The Commercial Building Awards were started in 1991 by a group of REALTORS® who were concerned that commercial development within the Greater Victoria area was not receiving the recognition it deserved.

The Commercial Building Awards competition is recognized among architects, builders and developers and the real estate community as a prestigious event dedicated to the advancement of excellence in construction and design. Because of its success, the Victoria Commercial Building Awards program is now being emulated by various real estate boards throughout BC and across Canada.

The Commercial Division of the Victoria Real Estate Board is dedicated to advancement in quality developments and to encouraging a better environment within our community and is proud to sponsor this annual competition.