Originally built in 1892 as a 40-room luxury hotel, this building is a hybrid of Victorian Romanesque architecture and Sullivanesque design.
Originally designed by noted architect John Teague, the value of this
design lies in its narrow verticality, made possible by the early use of
cast iron structural piers. Also prominent in the design is the open
facade, highlighted by the use of arches, bay windows, decorative
columns and a triangular pediment on its cornice. The unique appearance
of this early hotel sets it apart from other historic hotels
in the vicinity.
The commercial area on the ground level offers over 1,400 sq ft of
space, while the remaining 4 stories comprise 22 residential units
with a total area of nearly 6,000 sq ft.